OpenContent – Basic Functionality
Basic Workflow Diagram, Click Below
What is it? OpenContent (OC) is an “Open News Platform” site where any contributors or users can submit “Original” news articles based on a category (mandatory): Local News, The World, Technology, Sports and Lifestyle.
Moderation of submitted articles is user-based, meaning other contributors and/or site users gets to approved, suggest revision, reject the submitted article before it gets published online on the site for the selected category.
A Contributor’s article, gets notified via email that the article have been approved and published online. User can opt-out from being notified from his Profile Settings.
What’s in a Published Article?
- 1. Contributors avatar/photo
- 2. Link to contributors profile
- 3. Contributors list of published articles.
- 4. Rating for this contributor from other contributors and/or users and the ability for other users to rate the article.
- 5. The Article.
- 6. Social sharing link (Facebook, Twitter, etc.)
- 7. Report abuse link form base (jQuery)
- 8. Contact email link form base (jQuery)
- 9. Vote this! The “Vote this” link which will be on every articles is a way for the article to get pushed to the main Category section of the page.
- 10. All submitted article must be original. Copyrights and article content is solely owned by that Article Contributor and the site is remains solely a broker for publishing those articles.
What’s in “The Article”
- 1. Article Subject
- 2. Main article text
- 3. Photo or a Photo Gallery
- 4. Video
Contributors Profile Page
- 1. Personal Info – Avatar, Interest
- 2. If logged in, show WYSIWYG Editor with a Save Later and Publish Now buttons
- 3. If logged in, show pending articles for with 2 buttons, approve, revise (proof-read), reject from other contributors.
- 4. All Published articles with comment moderation, removal
- 5. All published articles can be edited
- 6. Edited published articles is removed from the published queue and re-submitted to the origina approvers with the edited text highlighted for re-approval and once approved will go back on the main site with an additional information: Edited on: (date)
- 7. All published articles can be removed only by 2 users: Submitter and Site Admin / Moderator